Little Baddow Chapel (URC) has been a worshipping community for over 350 years. We come from a tradition that encourages free thought and discernment as we grapple together over how we are called by God to be a community each day. This has led the Chapel in many directions over our history, giving us a vibrant past upon which to draw as we live out each day in faith, hope, and love.
Our roots are grounded in the Great Ejectment of 1662, when nonconformist ministers refused to only conduct worship by the Book of Common Prayer (1662). The Chapel's first minister was Thomas Gilson, ejected from St Mary's Parish Church. While this nonconformist spirit is very much a part of our ethos today, we seek now to work in reconciliation with our faith partners.
The historic building dates from 1707, following a grant from the Barrington Family which formed the basis for a trust that continues to this day. New building work was completed in the Autumn of 2012, allowing us new settings to continue to be responsive to our postmodern world. The churchyard of 3.5 acres is kept to strict environmental settings to be a refuge for wildlife and plant life. We host the largest colony of Meadow Saxafrage in Essex, and are pleased to welcome anyone to visit the grounds and building whenever convenient. This labour of love has been continued by one of our elders, Brenda Hooson, who wrote and illustrated a book chronicling the changing of the grounds over five years from month-to-month. This book, along with our history, can be purchased at the History Centre behind the church or from us directly.
We are a congregation of the United Reformed Church, having joined our voice with this nonconformist denomination upon its formation in 1972.